Help with gift for my brother!

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by getem2011, Dec 4, 2012.

1. getem2011

getem2011 New Member

I am getting my brother a semi auto shotgun for Xmas. He will be using it for skeet shooting and home defense. I would like to keep the price under $300 if possible. Please give me suggestions as I am new to long guns.

Thanks,
    getem

2. jjfuller1

jjfuller1 New Member

check out mossberg. they have a nice one.. and fairly affordable

3. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

Mossberg 930 or 935 I think is what the model # is for the one jj mentioned

4. jjshooting

jjshooting New Member

Whats wrong with the Maverick 88? $200.00. I've put over 500 rounds in it and no issues. Bought it for my son, and I like it more than my Mossy. 95percent same gun.

5. Jpyle

Jpyle New Member

Not a semi-auto.

6. tonydewar

tonydewar New Member

one gun for hd and skeet is a oxymoran!!!

7. getem2011

getem2011 New Member

Ok well then something that CAN do both.

8. John_Deer

John_Deer New Member

Home defense barrels are to thin for shooting skeet. After he shoots 10 rounds the barrel will be so hot he will have problems loading the gun. A skeet barrel is long and heavy compared to a SD barrel. He really needs a 28" barrel for skeet shooting.

$300 is not an adequate budget to get a semi-auto shotgun. $300 isn't enough to get a pump combo with a 28" skeet barrel and a 18.5" SD barrel. Maybe you can get another family member to match your $300.

9. Blueguns

Blueguns New Member

10. getem2011

getem2011 New Member

Thank you for all your replies. I realize that a pump may be better because it will open up a larger group of choices. He is also a novice when it comes to shotguns so maybe it would be best if I get him something simple. What are some good, cool, and affordable pumps that are in my budget? PLEASE HELP time is wasting away as I approach Christmas.