help w/ an enfield

Discussion in 'Curio & Relic Discussion' started by dutyranger, Jun 25, 2014.

1. dutyranger

dutyranger New Member

hey guys, hoping someone can help me out ID'ing a lee enfield. sorry, no pictures. i just got an enfield from my father in law. i know there are magazines in the house but the mother in law can't find them right now and the house is 2000 miles away so i can't really go find them myself. so i'm hoping to pick up some aftermarket mags for the rifle. i'm completely new to enfields. i know there are several different numbers and several different marks. the only aftermarket mags that i've seen are from pro mag, which i hate. but it's not a duty carry gun so i can mess with the mags and tweek till they feed right. pro mag has 2 different mags for enfields that i can tell. i just need to figure out which 1's to get. so on to ID'ing the gun. there are stamps all over the gun. i think the stamp on the wrist is probably the most significant. it's stamped:
    crown (picture not word)
    G.R.
    B.S.A.C (looks like a little, underlined 0)
    SHTLE
    III (can't tell if its a star of david or an asterisk)

so let me know if that stamp tells anybody anything. or if there's any other info that i need to provide to determine No1MkIII, etc, etc. The gun has been sporterized so I don't really see any collectible value to it. i'm actually thinking of cutting it down to a 16" gun just to bang around the truck. If anybody has any better suggestions than the pro mag mags I'm all ears. thanks for any help you all can provide.

2. GR = George Rex
    BSAC = British Small Arms Company
    1918 = year of original manufacture
    SHTLE = Short Lee Enfield
    [​IMG]