Firearms Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
From hand guns and rifles to shotguns and ammo for every weapon, we got what you need.
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My colleague and I are arguing about a fluted barrel on pistols whether it does anything or not. Background, he's a mechanical engineer, I spend way too much money on defense equipment and we are working on a race gun build based on either a g34 or 17L. My argument is that on a pistol it is mainly for aesthetic purposes since heat dissipation between fluted and non fluted is virtually impossible to see a difference.
My colleague says fluted barrels have greater durability because of the heat dispersing better especially if it is a work gun with heavy round counts.

·
Premium Member
1,567 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Please do stop into introductions and tell us a bit about yourself, we like getting to know folks.

I am no engineer. In regard to your question/debate, to my knowledge fluting accomplishes the following. It reduces the weight of the barrel while it adds strength and it helps dissipate heat. However, to my understanding the lighter fluted barrel heats up faster too just because it is less material overall. So, it would seem to me your friend is correct, however, since the barrel spends most of its time sheathed in the slide and frame there is essentially no place for heat to go. So, this would, in my opinion, reduce the efficacy of fluting for cooling in my opinion, but it still reduces a little weight.

·
Premium Member
6,292 Posts
RE a given parts difference doing "anything" ... I suppose it'd come down to whether there would be a given measurable difference in accuracy under varying conditions. Else there wouldn't be much beyond aesthetic benefit.

I don't think I've ever seen any detailed evaluation of a given gun, compared in terms of performance with and without fluting.