Help ? Looking for a nice lever action!?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Gorkman, Feb 7, 2012.

1. Gorkman

Gorkman New Member

Hello
    I am new to threads and I am in the market to buy a nice lever action Rifle , My father had ome Wheni was younger and i am in searchof one similer to it .I beleave it was a 30-30 lever action and had some brass color to it .Myfather is no longer alive he passed away in 92' and rite after he passed all his stuff was stolen. Not sure whato aske for Or what to spend on one i am thinking around the 1200.00 range but asking advise on what to get or not get if anyone wouldnt mind helping me with this plz
    Thank you for reading.

2. Paladin201

Paladin201 New Member

When it comes to lever guns, I'm a big fan of Henry. Check out their web site look at the various models. They make a nice 30-30 model with a blued steel frame or brass. It has a octagon barrel. Nice looking rifle.

3. hiwall

hiwall Well-Known Member

I've had Winchester and Marlin. While both function fine my choice would be a Winchester. I have never owned a Henry but Paladin201 seems to know his stuff and he likes them. Those three are the most popular lever guns. Any of those three will serve you fine for many years to come.

4. Paladin201

Paladin201 New Member

Agreed. I've owned Marlins as well. Good, solid guns. Never owned a Winchester, but know them by reputation. I don't think you could go wrong with either of the three. Henry just happens to be my personal favorite.

5. Durangokid

Durangokid New Member

I would expect your father had the old stand bye a Mdl. 94 Winchester. They have set the course for all 30-30 lever actions across the globe. If in fact he had a Mdl. 94 it would have been what is now refered to as a Pre-64 Mdl. 94. This Pre-64 means it was made before the changes of 1964. These guns can be found at gun shows and online auctions. You can expect to pay around $700 or $800 for a real nice 94 Winchester 30-30.:)