Guy at work insists revolvers are better for home defense?

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by charliegirl, Mar 13, 2012.

1. charliegirl

charliegirl New Member

Shooting the $hit this morning and a guy at work shows me a pic of his new revolver, a S&W .357. In this conversation, he tells me that revolvers are better for home defense because they're faster to shoot because there's no slide to worry about, you just point and shoot. I'm fairly new to the gun world, but I disagree with him saying revolvers are better for home defense. Even with only a year's worth of experience, I mess around with my gun a lot and have gotten to where I can pick up, rack the slide to chamber a round all in the same fluid movement and it feels like second nature. Plus, you can always have a round already chambered.... am I missing something or are revolvers really better for home defense like he claims?

Last edited: Mar 13, 2012
  2. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

Simple answer-----NO
    Simple answer-----YES

The best is what YOU can use the best------

3. JTJ

JTJ Well-Known Member Supporter

As the saying goes, "Everyone has an opinion." Dont bother to argue as it is usually useless.

4. kryptar19

kryptar19 New Member

Keep doing what your doing. Revolvers may be better for him. The best gun for HD is the one that you use the best, IMO a semi auto with a hi-cap mag.

Now, the most practical for HD is a shotgun with a short barrel and #6 in it.

5. vincent

vincent New Member

In the firearms world, there is no such thing as "best". If a revolver works best for your co-worker than that's what works best for him. Don't let him try to tell you that it's best for YOU.

If you want my .02...I'd rather have a short barrelled shotgun than anything else...:cool:

6. rifleman1

rifleman1 New Member