Gunsmithing Schools?

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Gordo323, May 11, 2010.

1. Gordo323

Gordo323 New Member

I have been a helicopter mechanic for the last 30 years, I have loved the life (still do), however my passion has always been for shooting guns. I was wondering if anybody has any advice for becoming a gunsmith. I am seeing alot of ads in my favorite gun mags lately offering online training, and was just wondering if any one has had any experiences with these schools, or is it best to just go off on my own?
    I am 52 years old and the travel involved with what I do now is taking it's toll! Not rich enough yet to retire, just looking for something for the future!

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Some of the on-line schools may be okay, but IMO, I would go in-resident (or at least hang around a good smith's shop). Cylinder and Slide offers a "Hands-on" class for the 1911. There are also Armorer's classes offered by different manufacturers. Various classes at vo-tech schools can be used in the pursuit of your new "hobby". Good Luck.

3. Biohazurd

Biohazurd New Member

Check out Colorado school of trades. they got me started in the biz... ha ha.

By the way i frown apon an online gunsmithing school. Gunsmithing is a trade not a science you need hands on real world training to become an efficient gunsmith IMO, Something an online course can offer you.

Last edited: May 24, 2010
  4. stalkingbear

stalkingbear Active Member

You're not going to get much out of online gunsmithing schools. I'd strongly suggest an on campus trade school or gunsmithing course. Gunsmithing is something that requires a LOT of hands on training.

5. Gordo323

Gordo323 New Member

Thanks for all replies, I think I am going to try and get a part time job doing the grunt work at a local gun shop as my work schedule dosen't allow me the chance of attending a full time school.

6. Biohazurd

Biohazurd New Member

I ment something it can not offer you, My bad..