Gunsmith school question

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by seanch, Apr 26, 2012.

1. seanch

seanch New Member

I am thinking about going to gunsmith school, how hard is it? And what basically would I need, and would it be worth it demand wise, right now I am a truck driver so I make pretty good $. What all do I need like high school diploma. Any help would be helpful to me. Are the online classes worth it or hands on classes. Please help. Thanks all

Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2012
  2. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member

You need a good mechanical aptitude, patience and to be able to work with your hands. A brick and mortar school is your best bet if you can afford the time and money. There are some decent online programs for a knowledge base and some that are complete bs. I would not suggest getting into gunsmithing if making money is your goal. You need to have a Passion for firearms.

3. PlaysWithZombies

PlaysWithZombies New Member

Agreed. All the gunsmiths i know either do it as a hobby in their spare time, or own a gunshop.

4. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

I do it as a hobby and I'm a partner in a gun shop. If $ is your big desire stay on the road. I don't know bout online classes since I had a mentor.

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

5. seanch

seanch New Member

Yeah I do have a Passion for firearms, I've been around them all my life, I just wanted to know if it would pay the bills cause if I go for it, it would be a big career change.

6. seanch

seanch New Member

Plus I would be home with wife and kids ever day, I have a 2 year old and a 6 mounth old I am missing to much with her.

7. seanch

seanch New Member

Is there a big demand for a gunsmiths.

8. TheOldMan

TheOldMan New Member