Gunsmith apprentice question

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Ultimate_sig, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Ultimate_sig

Ultimate_sig New Member

I found a gunsmith that will take me on as an apprentice, I havent started yet and were supposed to talk monday. Is there a wage as an apprentice or is the knowledge your compensation?

2. Ranger-6

Ranger-6 New Member

As a apprentice, non certified machinest with experience to operate a lathe, boring mill, CNC, welding, vertical drills, and other metalworking tools then you may get $10/hr. However, wage is all dependent on where you live.

3. Ultimate_sig

Ultimate_sig New Member

Im in texas, with all that experience what could I earn an hour

4. dvcguns

dvcguns New Member

5. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

that's about $443 a week before taxes.

6. Ultimate_sig

Ultimate_sig New Member

Thats for an apprentice, but what bout when I get done with that and become a gunsmith

7. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member

It varies but i make about $500 a week before taxes. Unless im buildin custom rifles for OTHER people....then i make considerably more

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

8. Axxe55

that's for an apprentice who already have some basic skills with metalwork in milling machines and lathes. do you have any of these skills yet? if not, you need to start at the bottom and work up and learn. if you have none of these skills yet, then the pay if any will be way less. you have many years to go before becoming a gunsmith. most gunsmiths don't make huge amounts of money and many have fulltime jobs to be able to live a comfortable life and pay their bills. as much as i enjoy working on guns, it couldn't afford me to live as i am accustomed to now. so i just work on my own and enjoy it as a hobby.

9. Marlinman

Marlinman New Member