Gun show .....

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by brockly, Sep 3, 2013.

1. brockly

brockly New Member

Ok I'm new to all this but I'm learning fast.

New question there a gun show in sac. This weekend $11. $10 with coupon. Drive up there and back $20. What price would I see .22lr ? Or 9mm. Would it be worth it ?

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

It is rare to find lower prices on ammo at gun shows. Guns from the vendors are usually the same as you can find from LGS. The benefit is you have multiple vendors in one location.

3. brockly

brockly New Member

Ok looking for a S&W m&p 15-22 but don't have the money right now.

4. Mouser

Mouser Member

I have had mixed results at gun shows. You must do your homework first...I usually sample a gun that I am targeting on a site like GunsAmerica to get a price spread.

There are vendors who are high and some who are reasonable. I have found some good deals...I bought a Ruger GP 100 for $400 as a guy was selling his private collection and was motivated to sell...I also bought a brand new SW 686 for $600 which as pretty reasonable from what I had sampled...but mostly, you will pay about the same.

Probably, the best thing about gun shows...often a motivated seller will pick up the sales tax so if you are patient, and willing to walk away from a sale that isn't right, you can find some good buys; but sometimes not.

I go to gun shows because it is fun for me. Sometimes I buy and sometimes I don't. I have more than once, left a gun show and driven to a local gun shop to buy a new gun that I was not able to locate at the show for a price I liked.

Just research and go have fun. You can not see a movie for $20 so that is how I look at it...a day out doing what I enjoy.

5. robocop10mm

robocop10mm Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

I have not wasted my time with gun shows in several years. Inflated prices, crowds of mall ninjas.

6. TruggieTex

TruggieTex New Member