Gun for a New-ish person

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by Tev225, Aug 7, 2013.

1. Tev225

Tev225 New Member

Hello, I am looking into buying a good target/varmint rifle (coyotes). I am kind of new to guns. I am familiar with my dads 10-22 and his Remington 870, I have been hunting a couple of times with them. I am looking for a caliber that is reasonably cheap. I will not be reloading. 223 rem seems to be a good bet but I was wondering if there was a better option for me. I also need help on what rifle to choose. Should I go cheap (savage axis, stevens 200)? or should I put a little money out (howa 1500, Mossberg mvp). :confused:

2. cottontop

cottontop Guest

If you want a brand new rifle, I would suggest that you get a .243 in the Marlin XS7. They are very nice looking, light weight, and very strong. I know a guy who accidentally chambered a .300 Savage round in a .25-06 Marlin XL7 (the longer action version) and fired it. Other than the extractor and ejector on the bolt, nothing was damaged. A gunsmith checked everything out and nothing else was damaged.

Why the .243 cartridge? It is perhaps one of the most all round cartridges ever invented for North American hunting. Anything from small varmints to mule deer and black bear can easily be taken with it. Also, consider very good accuracy and very low recoil.

If buying used, you have lots of options even in older calibers such as the 6mm Remington, 250-3000 Savage, .25-06, and .257 Roberts.
    ct

3. Tev225

Tev225 New Member

Thanks for the input. I was considering the 243 earlier on because it is more versatile for hunting.

4. nchunt101

nchunt101 New Member