Grouping question

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Thadeuce, Jul 27, 2011.

1. Thadeuce

Thadeuce New Member

Ok, help me out here. I've been shooting since the end of March/beginning of April. At 7 yards, I can shoot a 5 shot group with all rounds touching 6 outta 10 times and under 2" pretty much every time. But I'm reading/seeing that people are grouping 2 inches at 25 yards. Please tell me that this is on a rest of some sort. If it's free standing, I quit now.

2. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

Practice, practice, practice.
    Some of us have been at this game for years. Practice is great if you improve, but to keep shooting the same and getting same result, well something needs to change.
    Your grip, stance, review of the basics.

3. Yunus

Yunus New Member

What gun and caliber are you using?

4. ninjatoth

ninjatoth New Member

I been shooting rifles for a long long time and am very good,but when I started shooting pistols 2 and a half years ago,all I could do was make a 11"x8" target look like it was hit with buckshot with centerfire handguns.Then I bought myself a .22,same results right away,but after 6 months of having it I can now group 1"@7 yards standing and even put 50% of my rounds in the same hole.Get a .22 if you don't have one and spend lots of time shooting,you will learn a whole lot of technique that just can't be explained verbally.

5. Shihan

Shihan Active Member Lifetime Supporter

I thought it said Groping question.:eek: that I could have helped you with.

Grouping, now that is a whole other subject. Practice, Practice, Practice. Funny that works for groping also.:D

6. bmatt1

bmatt1 New Member