Good realible bolt action 22lr

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by SmithKid308, Aug 28, 2011.

1. SmithKid308

SmithKid308 New Member

I want a rugged 22lr I know your gonna go "get an ak In 7.62x39" well I'm not an ak man I'm a bolt action and I want it in 22lr because if SHTF I want something that won't destroy the small game and it's is very rugged so any suggestions ?

2. CHLChris

CHLChris New Member

A .22lr rifle is a great weapon to have in SHTF. I am still a little new to this stuff and I have a Buckmark pistol, but no .22 rifle yet. Why would someone suggest you get an AK when you are looking to be able to take a rabbit? You should have multiple firearms to fulfill different tasks.

In bolt-action I would get a Savage Mark II and then find a good scope that's nicer than a Simmons.

Since I have my Buck Mark pistol, I might be looking for a Buck Mark rifle. The parts and magazines would be interchangeable. But that Savage looks really nice.

3. Jay

Jay New Member

The older Mossbergs are very dependable, and quite accurate.

4. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

I always like the old Marlin 781's :)
    The new Savage is hard to beat these days tho -
    The CZ is great but a bit more of a investment-

5. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Ref: Older Mossbergs- no yuck phooey horrible (send them all to me, I'll dispose of them for you :rolleyes:)

.22 rifle rarely wear out. Absent a bulged barrel from firing with an obstructed bore, it is not uncommon to be able to find a NICE 40-50 yr old rifle- for fairly small $$$$.

In new guns, I am partial to Marlin, but Savage is also making a very good rifle. Older Remingtons are also worth a look.

Matter of fact, used guns are cheap enuff to get a few different ones to play with.

6. Bigdog57

Bigdog57 New Member

I also favor the Marlin .22 rifles - maybe why I have nine of them. Only seven Mossbergs, and three older Stevens .22 rifles.
    All are good shooters.