Good first handgun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by quickdrawmcgraw, Dec 31, 2011.

1. quickdrawmcgraw

quickdrawmcgraw New Member

I Was thinking of getting a handgun and I didn't know what was good for beginners. I have plenty of experience with rifles and shotguns but I haven't owned a handgun. This handgun would be for target practice and home defense. Would really appreciate some feed back

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

Since you have some firearms experience, I would certainly check out a Ruger GP 100 .357 mag with a 4 or 6 inch barrel. .357 is good for HD, but can shoot .38 spl for less expensive range time.

Start with a wheel gun, then later add a pistol, such as a 1911, Springfield XD or a Glock. You can find an example of each of these in my safe.

3. vincent

vincent New Member

+1...great advice there Gator... OP,If you can learn to shoot a revolver in DA accurately, it's a smooth transition to a pistol...not so much the other way around...speaking from experience, if I had it to do over again, I'd pick a good wheelgun to get my feet wet with first...

4. gollygee

gollygee New Member

If you get 100 replies, you'll probably get 99 different answers.:) My first handgun was a .22 revolver, then a .357 revolver. But, when I decided to get my carry license, neither of those were suited for concealed carry & I opted for a semi-auto. Basically more rounds & thinner pistol, so easier to conceal.

I lucked out & got one which needed no break-in because I didn't know enough about semi autos to even know they sometimes need break-in.:eek: They can be ammo picky, sometimes need couple hundred rounds for parts to "mate". You get past all that, I believe a good semi-auto is the best for both fun at the range & self defense, especially if you intend carrying it.