good defense ball ammo?

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by macon17, Apr 11, 2012.

1. macon17

macon17 New Member

2. MrWray

MrWray New Member

I would say any 230 grain FMJ from a reputable company

3. GunRunner

GunRunner New Member

Guard Dog

Feeds like FMJ acts like a JHP

RBCD

I carry this, Im no expert or a professional but its what I bet my life and my families on

Check them out, I think there are a few YouTube videos out on both

4. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member

I'm no expert on ballistics and wound data but I honestly believe a .45 should do the job whether its in a SD load configuration or not. I stock up on Winchester white box and Federal champion. With that being said I carry +P JHPs in my 1911 so I guess my reply is somewhat contradictory and can be ignored if you so choose.:D

5. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

The 230gr ball has worked for the military for a couple of years. It should be okay.

6. BikerRN

BikerRN New Member

If you are asking about hardball ammunition due to some law, such as New Jersey's ban on hollowpoint ammunition except for LEO's, I would urge you to look at something like the Corbon P'wrball or Federal Expanding Full Metal Jacket.

7. sweeper22

sweeper22 New Member

1) 45acp 230gr FMJ is a good defense round...from almost any manufacturer.

2) JHPs are almost always the better defense choice if (a)legal and (b)functional in your gun. More damage to your target, less threat to what's beyond it.

• (a) If there are legal concerns, evaluate the legality of Federal EMFJs and such.
    • (b) If you have feed issues with JHPs, try Hornady Critical Defense, CorBon Pow'rBall, Fed EMFJ, etc. There are a number of good defense rounds that feed like ball.

3) And if by chance cost is a concern, I'd be happy to point you in the direction of some affordable 45 JHPs.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2012
  8. macon17

macon17 New Member