Gobble Gobble

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by hunter Joe, Mar 8, 2009.

1. hunter Joe

hunter Joe New Member

Just wondering if anyone else was getting fired-up over the upcoming spring turkey season? In Wisconsin turkey season starts around the middle of April and goes for six weeks. That is six, five day periods. I drew the second period this year that starts on April 22nd, my wifes birthday. Thank God for grandchildren, she doesn't have time to miss me, if she even notices that I'm gone.

Last year on the first morning I knocked down a Tom. He was doing that turkey break dance, and being the safe hunter that I am, I nonchalantly stood up, loaded another round, put the safety on, check my watch, looked up and he ran away. I took off after him and eventually kicked him off a roost in a tree, never to be seen again. That was that.

I've been hunting long beards since 1993 and every year is an adventure. I enjoy calling for other people as much as hunting turkeys myself. I'm looking forward to hearing some good stories in the upcoming future and maybe some pictures. Shoot Straight, Stay Safe, Hunter Joe

2. divinginn

divinginn New Member

It starts here in Georgia in a few weeks,need to break out the turkey calls and get some practice in.

3. R-BOLT

R-BOLT New Member

I await with baited breath. In Kansas the youth season starts April 1st. Have a young gent that wants me to help him get his first gobbler. Should be a blast, his dad has been training him on handling a shotgun the last few weekends. I will call for him and his dad will film the hunts.