Glueing on Rifle Sights?

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by matt91152, May 15, 2013.

1. matt91152

matt91152 New Member

So I know it sounds like a bad thing to do, but I'm curious. I am a Student Gunsmith and i have been thinking about different ways to attach sights. I prefer using silver solder but I am wondering if there is a glue or epoxy that would be suitable. I know front sights are glued onto shotguns sometimes with Black Max, but could it hold up on a rifle? I have a sporterized 1917 Enfield in 30/06 that I like to use for experimenting. So does anyone have any input or suggestions?

2. cottontop

cottontop Guest

Red Green uses duct tape. Why don't you try that?
    ct

3. Rick1967

Rick1967 Well-Known Member

Oh, now that was helpful.

But seriously, I am interested in what other might offer for advise.

4. JonM

JonM Moderator

you would have to have something that isnt heat sensitive. heat breaks down most glues and epoxies that are readily available. then you have the chemical problem when you start cleaning with solvents.

there is a reason sights are attached via dovetail type cuts or screwed in or are part of a barrel band or sight base assembly

5. gunnut07

gunnut07 New Member

The problem is over time it will break down. Then you add recoil to the mix and if you glue sights on a gun they will come off. Rear sights should be held on my screws and front sights should be held on with silver solder.

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

The issue is not simply recoil. but the high frequency vibrations that run thru a barrel when you fire. As they hit the glue, density of material changes. Speed of that wave is a function of density (denser, faster). Wave gets reflected back on reaching the lighter material, meets second wave coming out, starts breaking epoxy.

Will it work? Yeah. For a while. Then your sight falls off on the ground.

7. mountainman13

mountainman13 New Member