Glock. Its a love/hate thing... Why?!

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by DickTheNickhead, Apr 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DickTheNickhead

DickTheNickhead New Member

I'm new to any firearm forum and I've just been reading a bunch lately...

It seems people either love glock, or absolutely hate it...

I can understand why someone would love glock. I get it.

But I don't understand why people hate it...
    I'm not a glock fan boy, I'm just curious as to why...

I hear a lot of talk about it being "Tupperware", but there are plenty of polymer guns out there..

And I guess you can hate it because there are less safeties...

....the only legitimate reason I see for hating glock is that they are ugly as HELL!

What's YOUR reason?

2. txpossum

txpossum New Member

Although I am firmly in the 1911 camp, I don't hate Glocks. I think they are an extremely reliable handgun, and the lack of a safety (other than the trigger safety) bothers me not at all. After all, most revolvers don't have safetys.

But I don't want one. Years ago I bought a Model 23 to see what all the hype on Glocks were about, shot it a few months, then sold it. Yes, to me it was ugly and had the "feel" of a brick, but the deal breaker for me was the long, heavy "squirt gun" trigger. I've been spoiled by the 1911.

It used to be said that the Glock was the gun for people who didn't like guns. Some of y'all here will understand this comment; some won't.

Nuthin' wrong with the Glock; it's just not for me.

3. colmustard

colmustard New Member