Getting Into The Kalashnikov Game - 2010 by Gabe Suarez

Discussion in 'AK & SKS Discussion' started by canebrake, Oct 4, 2010.

1. canebrake

canebrake New Member

From WARRIOR TALK NEWS

Getting Into The Kalashnikov Game - 2010
    Posted by Gabe Suarez on 09/30/2010

I have been working with AKs for many years now, and teaching AK specific classes for over five years. The AK market has changed drastically since the first AK parts kits sold for little more than 80 bucks, and you could buy a thousand rounds for about $150.

I want to present this discussion on "how to get into the AK" today since we get many of the same questions we did back then.

First I want to discuss "why". The advantages of the AK have been written about extensively here and I won't get into them too deeply. No, its not a SOCOM M1A, nor a Daniel Defense M4, but there are things you can do with an AK that neither of those two American rifles will allow. Within the intervals of combat that we keep seeing around the world, the AK can stay up with either one of those rifles anywhere.

Century Arms delivered some 3 million AKs to its dealers last year and this year so I suspect the american gun world (the one that is never written about in gun magazines) is catching on to the value and effectiveness of the AK-47/74 system.

When selecting an AK, you need to ask yourself why you are getting one. If it is for playing gun games, or to do the Bubba Bump-Fire at the local gravel pit between beers and doughnuts, then don't bother reading anymore because I cannot help you. Go get the cheapest thing you can find and go enjoy yourself. Gun games are not our focus and we cannot make any suggestions for such endeavors.