Gen 3 or Gen 4?

Discussion in 'Glock Forum' started by Izenrok, Oct 19, 2011.

1. Izenrok

Izenrok New Member

I am looking into a 23 as I am applying to an agency that has it as its firearm of choice. I would like to practice first as I'm pretty green in the shooting world. Should I buy a Gen 3 or Gen 4? Is the extra $ worth the G4?

2. Mongo

Mongo Active Member Supporter

Gen 3 0r 4

Do you need an indicator to inform you that there is a round in your chamber?

3. Kevin1047

Kevin1047 New Member

I'm new to th forum,but my choice is gen 3 all the way in price with standard sights $499.99.My gen 3 27 is my baby and I'm going to purchase a gen 3 23 in a bit,my research on gen 4 is that you can release mag left or right,and the width is only about a 1/16th thinner so I'll stick with gen 3 of course add night sights or laser sights for less money

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

Go handle them both before you decide. I bought a new G23 a few months back and compared the Gen 3 and 4. It didn't take long to pick, Gen 4 all the way. The multiple backstraps make all the difference and I do like the new RSA. (The latest version is 0-3-3 so look for that if you buy a Gen 4.)

No regrets at all, the 23Gen4 is great and I do have an older generation G22 to compare it with.

The Gen 4 is about $35 more but you get an extra magazine (3) so that and the new features offset the price.

But handle them and decide for yourself, either is a great gun.

5. PrinC

PrinC New Member

I had a keen interest in the Gen4 until I was told there are issues with them at the moment. I have decided to settle for the Gen 3 as parts are readily available and it has been time tested for reliability.

6. FaTmAn

FaTmAn New Member

Havent heard of any problems but i do have a gen 4 and like it but i have held lots of glocks in my hands and settled on the gen 4 because of price was right

7. leper65

leper65 New Member