Gas

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by AznZOhAn, Jul 21, 2011.

1. AznZOhAn

AznZOhAn New Member

Is traditional blow back better or is piston better?

2. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

Bear in mind I am relatively new to AR's!

Traditionalists will say the direct impingement AR's are the best.

I picked up a piston upper about a month ago and I really, really, like it. It is an Adams Arms mid-length w/ 1:7 twist. I am of the opinion the future of the AR is going to be more pistons due to the need for less and easier maintenance. Google Huldra Arms and check out my upper.

No matter what you buy, quality is the key.

I have no reason so far to doubt either of my 5.56 (traditional & piston) uppers.

A true blowback gun does not have a gas tube or piston to direct the pressure of the gases to the bolt. The gases created by combustion of the gunpowder literally blows the empty cartridge and thus the bolt backwards which is the beginning of the cycling process.

3. luan87us

luan87us New Member

Piston doesn't mean less cleaning really. All the carbon is by gas block and the hand guard where DI concentrate on the BCG. I don't see much different in the ammount of effort used to cleaning either one. If you want your gun to shoot and keep shooting you'll have to clean it either way. Remember that piston was not designed for AR platform. There is a reason why the military uses DI still today.

4. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

I follow a similar train of thought as you do, luan87us. I have a piston and a couple DIs. My 1st was a piston and its been all DIs after that.

That Huldra pistons are the future and DIs are dead sh*t caught a crap storm of resistance on the other forum and for good reason. Its a bs statement w/ nothing to back it up. Pistons are nice but they are far from the future of ARs. Cleaning isn't any easier. Like luan said the filth just collects other places.