Firearms Talk banner

Gas or Piston ? ? ?

8K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Darth AkSarBen 
#1 ·
So I am new to the whole gun thing and am looking to buy either a M4 or an AR-15 and I am wondering if I should go with the direct gas injected or the gas-piston? I've been reading a little on both but I'm still a little lost. I've found some Bushmaster's for around 1K but those are the gas ones, however, I was looking at the Bushmaster BCWA3F16M4-GP (gas piston) and it is about 1500. Is the gas piston worth the extra 500?

I guess I should also note that I am not really planning on shooting thousands of rounds through the weapon as I am in college and on a budget. Any help would be great !

#2 · (Edited)
First understand the difference between the original direct gas impingement design and the new gas piston guns so you can make the best decision for yourself.

1. Gas Pistons are not new, in fact, they predate direct gas impingement by about 30 years. Most all semi auto and selective fire rifles designed for military use used the gas piston beginning in the late 30's and most still do.

2. Direct gas impingement as designed by Eugene Stoner for the AR rifles, which also became the US Military's M-16 rifles were built with the express goal of reducing recoil in order to achieve CONTROLLABLE automatic fire. Stoner achieved this with a couple of design modifications that were unique to the AR 15 at that time but the primary advance was eliminating the HEAVY RECIPROCATION GAS PISTON and instead allowing the gas to vent directly back into the receiver to unlock the bolt and send it to the rear extracting the spent casing and then striping a fresh round from the magazine into the chamber as it's propelled back into battery by the buffer spring. The effect was DRAMATIC. I've fired full auto M-16s, M-4's, AK's, and M14's and none of the piston guns hold a candle to gas impingement if the measuring stick is CONTROLLABLE AUTOMATIC FIRE.