Frustrated and asking for help!

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by bayonet_extended, Feb 28, 2010.

1. bayonet_extended

bayonet_extended New Member

Hi,

I'm an excellent shot with a rifle, especially with open sights, but no matter how much I practice with handguns I'm still terrible. The best I can do (with nice guns, like a new Ruger GP100 and a Browning Hi Power in great condition) is maybe 3" groups at 15 feet on a really good day. On a bad day it's all over the target (like today).

When I practice dry-fire exercises I get a little better, but if I stop practicing for just a few days I go right back to being terrible. I'm working the basics of grip, sight picture, trigger squeeze, and breath control, but I just plain stink! :mad: I haven't noticed a consistent pattern to my groups - they are not low or off to one side, just lousy, wide groups all over the place. I'm not a newbie, but I can't say I've been very consistent with practice. It's discouraging because I don't seem to improve much.

Thanks for any suggestions!

2. Gatekeeper

Gatekeeper New Member

Ive had much the same experience as you regarding rifle/pistol groups. Im still working on improving my handgun skills.
    One thing I noticed I was doing when shooting at close range was letting my concentration drift since I could see the bullets striking the paper.
    I was not following through/ staying focused on the front sight. I was searching for the bullet impact.
    If not that, maybe a little "target panic" as it is referred to in the archery world.
    Maybe have someone mix some snap caps into your magazine/cylinder.
    Do that, maybe double up on the hearing protection (plugs and muffs) if flinching shows up with the snap caps.
    Other than that keep at it with the dry and live fire and try to make every shot count.

3. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter