Flintlock rifle barrel?

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing Forum' started by Appalachia Jack, Nov 16, 2020.

1. Appalachia Jack

Appalachia Jack New Member

Im pretty new to making firearms, but I make a lot of other things. This may be a dumb question but can you use steel tubing as a smoothbore gun barrel? Ive seen the like done for black powder pistols and even shotguns on youtube. The old flintlock barrels were handforged right? And to my knowledge they werent hardened either. Some were even cast from brass or bronze. I know that it wouldnt handle the kind of pressures we see in smokeless powders but would a piece of DOM tubing with a 1/4" wall thickness work for say a .36 cal black piwder flintlock? And would it be safe or would I be risking a grenade to the face every time I pulled the trigger

2. locutus

locutus Well-Known Member Supporter

Just buy a barrel ready made from a reputable manufacturer and KNOW that it's safe.

Pasquanel, alsaqr and Mowgli Terry like this.

3. Mowgli Terry

Mowgli Terry Well-Known Member

Right: You can get an idea of what's available from the Track of the Wolf website. That website is very informative. There a number of first class makers of muzzle loading barrels. You can get a good idea on hardware and breech plugs and the like. Do a little exploring on the net on the subject. This is not a recommendation for Track as I find them to be obnoxious Yankees.

4. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member Admin Moderator Lifetime Supporter

Jack- first of all, welcome to the site (That IS his first post, so ya'll be nice)

IF you are sticking with black powder, or a BP substitute like Pyrodex, yes, you can. However, there is tubing and there is tubing- just as there is pipe and pipe.