Fixed Iron Sights

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by fupuk, Feb 1, 2012.

1. fupuk

fupuk New Member

Well im looking for fixed sights to get for a 9mm carbine that i should be getting in a few weeks. It says the rail is pretty much identical to the Ar and anything will fit.

Thanks, Erik

Attached Files:

2. frostyone

frostyone New Member

Look into Magpul Mbus flip up sights. They are inexpensive compared to other back up sights and are still good quality. They should mount right on your rail.

3. ZombieKiller83

ZombieKiller83 New Member

Magpul buis is a good choice, run them on my ar and have had zero issues and for the price you can't go wrong

4. fupuk

fupuk New Member

Has anyone tried any products from Troy Industries? I like the look of their sight plus they are made of alluminum?

5. frostyone

frostyone New Member

I have no personal experience with Troy but I have read nothing but good things about them. I will be ordering a Troy battle rail next week for my AR build.

6. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

I like Troy BUIS but the Gen 2 MBUS are nice as well. If you want fixed take a look at the ones Daniel Defense puts out.

7. scottybaccus

scottybaccus New Member

One thing to note...

Standard AR type sights are calibrated for elevation changes using .223/5.56 ammunition. The elevation adjustments will be pretty useless with a 9mm, as marked. You could commit a few settings to memory, blow off the adjustment, or maybe pick a compact, fixed elevation rear sight that would be less complex and take up less space.

8. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Are you saying the MOA adjustment of an iron sight won't work due to the difference in caliber? Or are you talking about BDC optics?

9. locutus

locutus Well-Known Member Supporter

Max effective range for the 9MM in a carbine is 100-125 yards. So just zero it at 50 yards, apply a bit of blue Loctite, and call it good. You'll be very very close out to 125.:p:)

10. fupuk

fupuk New Member