First time gun buy

Discussion in 'General Shotgun Discussion' started by split29, Jan 8, 2012.

1. split29

split29 New Member

Hey guys I was wondering if you guys could give me advise. I'm new to guns only thing I know is that they are dangerous. Any way I'm looking for a shotgun to start with Clays and stuff and on to hunting after a while. I'm thinking Remington 870? What do you think?

2. trip286

trip286 New Member

A remington 870 would make a fine first shotgun, it's an old standby. It will serve every purpose you can throw at it.

3. Pasquanel

Pasquanel Proud to be an American Supporter

That would be a good choice.
    Welcome aboard.

4. TekST165

TekST165 New Member

First off, i would like to say that the guns are not dangerous...the people wielding them(wether it is improperly, unsafely, with bad intent, or any combination thereof) are what is dangerous. With proper training and good gun safety practices you have very little to worry about.

Secondly, welcome to a new addiction :)

Thirdly, the Remington 870 is an outstanding shotgun. The standard by wich all pump action shotguns are measured. They have an outstanding service record in police units throughout the country. I personally chose a Mossberg because it is what im used to (i.e.trained with) and because i feel the safety is a little more intuitive....but that is personal preference.

good luck :)

5. Buckethead47

Buckethead47 New Member

When buying a gun, buy something thats comfortable To hold. With the mossberg 500 I noticed it's lighter than an 870 and the safety is good for shooting left our right hand. As the 870 again very good gun and will doo about anything you would ever need it to. Aftermarket accessories are plentiful for both guns. I own an 870 and my step dad shoots a 500 both really nice and you will be pleased with either gun.

6. Cattledog

Cattledog New Member

well said.

And yes the 870 is a great shotgun. huge aftermarket parts list and very reliable.

7. Firearms4ever