First post. Problems with my first 1911!

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by be_alert1911, Dec 24, 2013.

1. be_alert1911

be_alert1911 New Member

Before I explain I attempted to use the search feature and came up dry so I decided to ask my question in a new thread. I'm new to this forum, but I've been scanning lots of info on here for awhile and I finally decided to make a profile cause there's so much knowledge on this site and I wanted to get involved.

My problem is I recently got my first 1911 and I attempted to put new hogue grips on it. Seemed successful at first but when I went to tighten the last screw I noticed it kept spinning and wouldn't actually tighten down. I removed the grips from the pistol and noticed the threaded bushing was now attached to the grip instead of the gun. Basically the threads that secure the bushing to the pistol are stripped I believe. I've never actually taken tools to my guns aside from basic cleaning and maintenance. I'm new to 1911 platform and I'm not sure what my options are to fix this problem.

It's a metro arms american classic II by the way. I can take some pictures in the morning of that'd help my situation.

Last edited: Dec 24, 2013
  2. JW357

JW357 New Member

Welcome to the forum.

Sounds like the threads are stripped, or possibly the screw holes themselves. Could be the wrong size screws.

Good luck.

3. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

Have you removed the screw bushing from the grip and attempted to get it screwed back into the grip frame? It may have not been staked in place and may have backed out most if the way when you took the screw out originally. Or it may have been stripped, and they may have used lock-tite to hold if in place. If the bushing simply backed out., just screw it in tight and you can either stake it or put some lock-tite or nail polish on the threads before reinstalling it.