First Gun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by Big_Ben, Jun 2, 2010.

1. Big_Ben

Big_Ben New Member

Hello. I am new to both this forum and guns in general. I am trying to figure out what kind of guns I should be considering to use for target shooting. Since I have never even shot anything besides a BB gun (hard to imagine for a southern boy, I know, but I fish, I don't hunt), I am going to take a basic shooting class. I want to buy a handgun, but I have many limitations. First of all, I am only 18, and in TN you have to be 21 to get a carry permit. So I won't be carrying anything for a few years. Secondly, I want something that won't break the bank with either initial purchase price or cost of rounds. If I remember correctly, I think I read that .22 ammo prices are good, so that sounds like something to consider. Third, I want something that will be somewhat effective for home defense, but I don't think that will be too much of an issue. I have only basic knowledge of the inner workings of a semi-auto pistol, but I'm sure I could pick up such knowledge fairly easily. Therefore, I am open to considering both revolvers and semi-auto magazine fed guns. Any suggestions?

Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  2. orangello

orangello New Member

A .22 won't have much stopping power for home defense, but it would be very inexpensive to target shoot with (or squirrel hunt). Why not look for an inexpensive or used .22 for your target practice & handgun familiarization AND pick up a 12 guage pump shotgun for your home defense needs? If you pick the right 12 guage, you may be able to get some hunting use out of it as a bonus. If that is too much to spend all at once, consider which need/desire is more important to you & go after that.

I enjoy plinking with my SKS, but i don't know how good of a home defense choice it would be. Those rifle rounds can go through a wall or two & hit an unintended target.