First Gun

Discussion in 'General Handgun Discussion' started by LSUtigers07champs, Feb 11, 2009.

1. LSUtigers07champs

LSUtigers07champs New Member

I'm in the market for a a handgun, this would be my first purchase, i really just want a good reliable gun that i can use for protection as well as leisure shooting. looking for some advice......thanks

2. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Welcome to the Forum -

How about giving the guys some information about you and your firearms experience?

It's easy to say "Buy X Brand, Shoot it all the time" but it might not be right for you if you have small hands, no experience with handguns or are completely new to the sport altogther.

JD

3. LSUtigers07champs

I hunt alot so most of my experience is with rifles/shotguns, but i've been shooting handguns with friends alot recently, so I guess you could say that I am pretty new to the sport, and ive got pretty big hands

4. canebrake

canebrake New Member

1911 LW Commander chambered in 45 ACP.

[​IMG]

Of course a [​IMG][​IMG]

5. LSUtigers07champs

I hunt alot so most of my experience is with rifles/shotguns, but i've been shooting handguns with friends alot recently, so I guess you could say that I am pretty new to the sport, and ive got pretty big hands

6. hunter Joe

hunter Joe New Member

Dang, canebrake I think you just made up my mind for me. I think that Colt 1911 might just be my next firearm purchase, although, I want adjustable rear sights.

I almost bought a XD because of the price, twice. Talked myself out of the purchase and now I'm glad I did. I shot a Gold Cup once and it was incredible.

7. kdog

kdog New Member

Aas mentioned in other threads, I`d go for a CZ75 either in 9mm Luger/Para (cheaper ammo) or .40 S&W

[​IMG]

Also very popular here in germany whith hunters.

8. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Problem with the Au cup is it only comes in Government 5" steel.

Colt's Manufacturing Company, Inc.