First Gun Purchase

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by jscorGA, Dec 12, 2011.

1. jscorGA

jscorGA New Member

I am new to the gun purchasing game and want to join my friends by owning a rifle that is flexible for both deer(mostly) and rabbit/varmints (.243 or 270 win?). I can spend up to $850-900 and I also want to make sure I am buying a rifle that will hold a fair amount of its value. Of all the manufacturers and their models:
    Beretta Tikka T3
    T/C Icon or Venture
    Remm 700
    Ruger M77
    Browning X-bolt
    Win Model 70
    Any others(?)
    I understand that many of these guns will serve me well and it is more the shooter than his weapon, but my question is which of these would represent a quality/reliable rifle and a good investment?
    and if any, is there anything that is a ripoff and should be avoided?

2. Jkl-28

Jkl-28 New Member

I think all of those you mentioned are good quality rifles... I personally like Remington (always have) I own 3 diff. Remington mod 700 and never had problems with them I love that action!

3. Rifleman1776

Rifleman1776 New Member

The Remington 700 is an amazing gun that you can buy and build up as you go.

4. aandabooks

aandabooks New Member

Personally, I would take the .270 in either the Browning or Win 70 if I had to choose from what you have on your list. They are all fine choices and you really can't go wrong. I think the Browning would have the most retained value though if you are buying with thoughts of possibly selling in the future.

5. rugernut

rugernut New Member

The ruger m77 is the most reliable you will ever get because Theav got a mouser tipe extractor and there going to be rilly accurate gun the ruger gunsit scout rifle takes a magazine 5 to a 10 round but if your lookin for a real accurate the savage is probly the best well thats my opinion

6. rugernut

rugernut New Member

And ruger and savage hold there value.

7. rugernut

rugernut New Member