First ar

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by adkins, Jan 29, 2012.

1. adkins

adkins New Member

Hi newbie here. I just recently picked up my first ar a stag model 2 so far I love it. What does everyone think about stag.

2. xdm11chad

xdm11chad New Member

I'm headed to the shop to pick up my model 3 may switch to a model 2
    I put a little over 1800 in mine tho! :) but it's the baddest one around these parts

3. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Not horrible but you could have purchaced something like a BCM at the same price point.

4. adkins

adkins New Member

Not horrible. Well then tell me what's not good about them

5. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

Do some looking around and compare price to specs such as barrel steel, twist rate, proper assembly, QC, CS.

6. adkins

adkins New Member

I hear about barrel steel alot does any body know the difference in 4140 and 4150. Twist rate is 1in 9 as far as proper assembly not sure everything seems fine gas key looks staked just fine to

7. MrWray

MrWray New Member

I have a Stag model 2,its a very well made rifle and has been 100% reliable.ive had mine for about 3 years

8. MrWray

MrWray New Member

You got a damn good rifle, no worries..

9. mjkeat

mjkeat New Member

A very knowledgeable guy once told me "length of ownership is no indication of quality". It opened my eyes quite a bit.

I never said anything negative about his rifle. There are guys I trust that like Stag. Yes it is a decent rifle but my words hold true.

I did a quick Google search and in 2 pages a Model 2 ran from the mid $800 range to $999. There is better out there well w/i that price point. Once again I'm not talking down on Stag but I speak the uncoated truth.

10. Quentin

Quentin New Member