First AR

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by Guns-N-Ammo, May 13, 2014.

1. Guns-N-Ammo

Guns-N-Ammo New Member

A little back history about myslef and the AR platform.... I was first introduced to it when my dad (LEO) brought his issued AR home and since we live in the country we were able to shoot it before he went to qualify the next day and ever since then I have wanted one so bad. It was all decked out with a red dot, light and flip up sights....the whole nine yards..... from then on, I would always shoot it when he brought it home and it was a big surprise because I always went to school the next day and bragged that I got to shoot an AR! Needless to say that was over 10 years ago and when my dad retired he was able to get an AR just like this duty one and I still shoot it from time to time but now I want my own one :D

I am still new to the cleaning and take down and rebuild part of it though. So that where I hope you guys can help and that is why I wanted to start with a complete upper and lower.

So after some heavy research and reading a bunch of threads here, I am convinced a complete lower and upper from PSA would be a good solid gun for me to get. It would also be in my buget.

http://palmettostatearmory.com/inde...omplete-psa-ar15-lower-moe-edition-black.html
    http://palmettostatearmory.com/inde...mv-cl-upper-with-bcg-and-charging-handle.html

So I am reaching out to all of you guys and gals to tell me the pros and cons of this set up. I am also looking for opinions on what else would be good to add to this or change. Also this will be used for.....target pratice, SHTF, 50yrds-about 400-500yrds, practical traning, hunting, etc. Basicly I want this gun to be my one and only go to rifle. Thanks

Last edited: May 13, 2014
  2. dwmiller

dwmiller Well-Known Member Supporter