First AR 15

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by ZachRome, Jan 27, 2014.

1. ZachRome

ZachRome New Member

I really want my first ar 15... I've shot the ar 15-22 so I somewhat know the system.. But what's a good starter ar? I'd like to spend 1000 or less

2. Mercator

Mercator Active Member

Too many to count. Price wise, now is the time, they can only go up from here (and they will). Consider buying a major brand for more options. S&W is one I would trust any day. A Colt may still be over $1000 but it is money in the bank for resale.

3. btf683

btf683 New Member

Allot of options under $1000 I got a bushmaster carbine for $800

Yell-O

4. bluez

bluez Well-Known Member

A lot of very nice gun for 1000 or less.
    Heck some nice ones for 800 even these days (would not go much below 800 though)

Sig M400 can be had for 1000 now..
    The only S&W MP15 I like is the MP15 Magpul MOE in midlenght gas system (only the midlenght Smiths gets the 4150 barrel the others are 4140)
    Rock Rick and Stag are also just under 1000 (depending how you option them out) and can be pretty nice.
    Colts go for 1000 and up.
    I really like the SIG 516 for its CHF barrel, adjustable gas, etc but this quality and feature laden rifle starts at 1300

Many many great rifles today.

5. MolonLabe__1776

MolonLabe__1776 New Member

The colt le6920 is on cheaperthandirt.com for 1,052 right now I know it's a little over but 100% worth it. ImageUploadedByFirearms Talk1390872042.255422.jpg

6. AlotOfPayne

AlotOfPayne New Member

What's wrong with DPMS guys they make some really nice guns and they have more calibers then any other company in ar-15

7. Sgt_Skrb_25

Sgt_Skrb_25 New Member

Check out Palmetto State Armory, might get a good deal with an optic on it

8. ZachRome

ZachRome New Member

What about the M&P sport?

9. sputnik1988

sputnik1988 Active Member