First .22

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by TrueNorth, Mar 14, 2010.

1. TrueNorth

TrueNorth New Member

Hey all, I'm new to the firearms world (if you read my intorduction thread you'll know that already).

Anyways, I'm just starting out and am looking for a good beginner .22 rimfire rifle. I'm not too sure what I want, however it will mostly be used for just plinking and practice.
    I do like good ol' bolt actions, but I think I want a semi-auto just so i can pound out rounds quick and get my skill level up.

I do plan to keep it for awhile - so good quality is a factor, and price is not really consideration, provided its not made of gold :)

Does any one have a particular rifle that they're happy with and would recommend (or advise to stay away from) or even just brands that i could research up on?

2. skullcrusher

skullcrusher New Member

Well, from the keep long term, quality and price factor I would have to say the Ruger 10/22.

There is literally tons of aftermarket stuff for the 10/22 so if you wanna upgrade or make better or more fun, that is the rifle. Jmho.

Semi-auto. High cap mags are plentiful.

Oh, we have a resident professional gunsmith here that can turn the WalMart 10/22 into a great shooter. :)

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

Marlin model 60, purchased 1967 for ~$39.

Yea I like it and I think it's quality, durability speak for its self!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. lastrebel70

lastrebel70 New Member

Well first off welcome to the forum and as for which rifle, my personal opinion would be either a Marlin Model 60 or a Ruger 10/22. I have both and the Marlin was my first rifle. I shot it for years with never any problems as long as I kept it clean. As for the Ruger, I have had it for a long while also and never any problems with it either. They are both accurate for plinking and very dependable.

5. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member

Welcome to there fine forums!