first 1911

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by comeback_kid, Dec 25, 2011.

1. comeback_kid

comeback_kid New Member

I got a Springfield range officer for Christmas today. This is my first 1911 and only my second pistol; my first being a ruger 22/45. I wanted a mil spec or gi model (I prefer the plain Jane look) but due to poor salesmanship I got a range officer. I have always hated the giant rear sight. Anyways now that I got that out of my system... I do LOVE this gun. I have been fondling her all day only dreaming of the moment I finally get the chance to run some 230 grain 45 ACP through this fine piece of machinery. The weight and the cold hard steel with the wooden grips just feels so damn good in my hand. I am not an expert but the trigger is my favorite out of all my guns. This is just a beautiful tool that I am confident will bring me years of pleasure; being my first 1911 it has a special place in my heart and I will treat her with the respect and care she deserves. Bad cell phone pic- hopefully soon I will get my moms camera and get some good photos. Would yall reccomend I fieldstrip it and clean her up before I go shooting? I mean its clean but I think I remember reading something where this guy wad talkin about how he likes to remove the old oil and relube before he shoots a brandnew 1911. Any tips or reccomendations are welcome. Merry Christmas

Attached Files:

2. MrWray

MrWray New Member

Congrats on the new piece, its really up to you on what you do before you shoot her. You can field strip her,give her a basic visual inspection and make sure that the rails are lubed, then reassemble...or just lock the slide back and run a dry patch through the barrel. Either way is fine

Enjoy your first 1911

3. kalepas

kalepas New Member

I field striped my RO the day I bought mine and found that the rails needed some extra live from what the factory applied! Enjoy! Shoots like a dream!

4. rigjumpr

rigjumpr New Member