Firearm beginner. I have some questions.

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by 50CalTroy, Jun 19, 2009.

1. 50CalTroy

50CalTroy New Member

I took a look around the forum to figure out where I would even put this topic, and I wasn't exactly positive, so if I messed up, I apologize.

Well, I'm new to firearms. My father and mother both didn't approve of them, so I never grew up around them. I recently enlisted into the US Navy, and that's when I decided I'd want to learn about firearms.

I don't know a thing though, I have a few ideas here and there, but I'm not positive on anything.

So, what I was wondering was, if someone could help me out and give me some info on the following:
    Bullet Size - What is caliber and mm?
    What is a cartridge made of? - What is the physics of the bullet actually going off, what happens with the firing rod strikes the primer?
    What kind of gun should I get? Where can I use it?
    What is gas operated?
    How does a typical weapon actually work? - The mechanics of it.
    Any more information anyone else can throw at me would be nice, when I get done with RTC and get my orders from my detailer, I'm joining the NRA.

2. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

Welcome here and thank you for your service. The internet search engines are your friends. Search out any of your questions and you will be rewarded with more information than you can stand.

I'm sure some folks will be along to answer some of your questions. In the meantime, a rule of thumb is the larger the number of the caliber, the larger the bullet/projectile. IE. the .45 is larger than a .40 which is larger than a .38 and so on. :cool:

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

4. cpttango30

cpttango30 New Member

Caliber is the measure of the bullets diameter or the diameter of the bore between the lands of rifling. This can be measured in either standard (Inches) or in metric (mm). A 5.56x45mm NATO is the same basic cartridge as the .223 Remington.