Finally got to shoot some of my reloads

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by Boyerracing343, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Boyerracing343

Boyerracing343 New Member Supporter

Well as many of you read my previous thread, i had finished up my first batch of 45 acp using speer 230 gr FMJ and Hornady 230gr XTP hp's. I used CCI large pistol primers, and 4.3 grs of titegroup.

I went to the range yesterday and shot 150 rounds of my reloads. 100 fmj's and 50 hp's. I was very satisfied with the performance. I am far from a professional pistol shooter but I was shooting about 3-4'' groups center mass at 12yards. ( I know this is nothing special but hey its a good improvement from what i started with when i shot a pistol for the first time about 11 months ago) I will try to post some photos up on my targets this evening after work.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Congrats!! Loading ammo really opens up the types of firearms you can consider due to cheaper ammo costs.

If i didnt load my own i would prolly not have half the guns i do.

3. fmj

fmj Active Member

Great success!!!!

Good to hear your home rolls worked without a hitch and that your weapon came home in one piece and you didnt make a trip to the ER. ;)

4. Boyerracing343

I was so excited to find myself pleased with my results. I can't wait to load up some more and continue hitting the range with much less damage done to my wallet.

Time for me to order some more 45acp bulllets, I can't wait to try out various brands and bullet weights to see what suits myself and my firearm better. I have already got the reloading bug and I see it being a life long hobby I hope to one day share with my own children one day in the future.

Next time I promise a better range report with photos and a more detailed post as well! :D

5. fmj

fmj Active Member

I would check into some gun shows for your components...i think you will find even less damage done to your wallet.