Filp up sites

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by lifeguardkliff, Aug 3, 2013.

1. lifeguardkliff

lifeguardkliff New Member

I just received my adams arms 14.5 in mid tactical and want to shoot it as soon as possible but can't quite afford optics at least for the next few weeks so I'm looking to buy some flip up sites and wanted to see what you guys thought would be best to mount on the gas block

2. ShagNasty1001

ShagNasty1001 New Member

I have a set of Troys and absolutely love them. My rear is the DiOptic and my front is a HK style

Attached Files:

3. lifeguardkliff

Are they alloy? I don't want to get the magpul gen 2 cause they are polymer and I'm not sure if its a good idea to attach something like that to my gas block even though its a piston gun I'm still new to this so any help would good help

4. ShagNasty1001

ShagNasty1001 New Member

Yeah they're metal. They have two types, one for gas blocks and one for rails like mine is on. Also just as a heads up, they aren't cheap. About 200 bucks or so for both of them depending on where you find them

5. monteros

monteros New Member

I just bought and installed the Troy battle sites also. I absolutely love them too. Here is a thread I started and used to help me decide which to buy:

Folding Sights: What do you use?

Search for that title in this forum.

Regarding Magpul, I have seen them referenced over and over about wing lighter and rock solid with no issues. :)

6. monteros

monteros New Member

My next build with be a pinned 14.5 " barreled upper and with a focus on being light for close quarters shooting and I am intending to use Magpul as backup irons with a red dot

7. Gatoragn

Gatoragn Active Member

A TruGlo red dot can be had for under $50 and will work great for plinking. These are designed to use on shotguns, so they certainly can handle AR 15 recoil. I run two TG red dots, one on a AR15, the other on a Mossy 715t 22lr.

The red dot is a heck of lot easier on my 50+ year old eyes.