Felon with a firearm?

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by fupuk, Jan 23, 2013.

1. fupuk

fupuk New Member

I was at work and talking to a guy about guns and he told me he is a convicted felon and is still allowed to have long guns but no handguns because he said that he is still allowed to bear arms and they cant take that right away from him? He said that thw conviction was for carry a consealed weapon and a drug charge. Im no lawyer and thought I was was pretty knowledgeable about firearm laws but this just doesn't make sense to me. I just dont know how that is possible? I dont think it will make a difference but im in Michigan. Any insight would be appreciated.

Last edited: Jan 23, 2013
  2. DrumJunkie

DrumJunkie New Member

Best of my knowledge a felon can't own a firearm without having their right reinstated by a judge. Being a felon loses most if not all rights dependent on the state. In my state thay can't vote, own a gun period as long as they have their rights tasken by the felony conviction.

Now I don't know all states and don't even attempt to know the law everywhere. But I don't know if a state that allows certain firearms on a felony conviction. Now the guy might ber talking more about taking what he sees as amoral stand and I'm not sure I'd be willing to blame him there. But often the law and morals do not see eye to eye.

3. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

Its early for me but i think he's full of shet-

4. nitestalker

nitestalker New Member

This is a Federal issue regarding firearms. The answer is no he can not own a firearm. He can not live in a house where a firearm is stored. He has been convicted of a firearms violation this in its self forbids his firearms ownership.
    Some states "Flag" felons when they buy hunting license.:)

5. fupuk

fupuk New Member