Felon in possession ??

Discussion in 'Legal and Activism' started by pmanton, Apr 14, 2014.

1. pmanton

pmanton Member

A group of my buddies went shooting. A chap who happens to be a felon went with them. It seems to me that the felon would be "in possession" just being in the car going to the range and my pals could get in trouble for "supplying" the felon firearms.

As soon as the felon picked up a firearm to shoot he has committed another felony.
    Opinions anyone ???

2. JW357

JW357 New Member

Agreed. But I'm not a lawyer.

3. G30USMC

G30USMC Well-Known Member Supporter

Yes a felon in possession of a firearm has committed another felony.

"Possession of a firearm under disability"

Which means a person in possession of a firearm, who was convicted of a Felony

4. Eagle1803

Eagle1803 New Member

I am not a lawyer, the thing between your ears has to think at this point saying no felons in my car when there is firearms, kind of the commend sense thing.

5. TekGreg

TekGreg Lifetime Supporting Member Lifetime Supporter

I'm not a lawyer, but he is okay to ride in the car as long as he doesn't have access to firearms, that is, they are secured in the trunk or on the non-criminals. As soon as he touches a gun, he is in violation and possibly the friends could be charged.

6. orangello

orangello New Member

Sounds about right. As long as the others maintain control of their firearms, it would be impossible for him to be in possession of them, right?

Heck, I was at a buddy's place the other night with a Bersa in my pocket; he has a felon in the family who was present but not in possession of my pistol. I was not worried about it.

Of course, not only am I not a lawyer; I am not a judge either, and a judge is where that case would end up with some LEO's doing the stop (felon in the car).

Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  7. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Not a lawyer= my legal advice is worth every penny you paid me for it. :p