Federal ammo from Walmart

Discussion in '.22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion' started by Yunus, Mar 22, 2012.

1. Yunus

Yunus New Member

Walmart near me has Federal ammo in .22 in boxes of 550 for about $20 and recently they added boxes of 325 that are "Target grade performance" whatever that means.

Anyone have a review they could offer on the new target grade performance rounds? Specifically I am interested in accuracy, reliability and if they jam every other round.

2. Longrange

Longrange New Member

I have no experience with the Federal target grade. I have however used Federal .22lr bulk and it is crap IMO. My experience with it was less then exciting. I got poor accuracy at 100 yards (which I expected to a degree) but I also had too many rounds that would not chamber. For a bolt action that is pretty sad. It is the only bulk ammo that I refuse to buy again. If accuracy is what you after try CCI mini mags or wolf match

3. Misfire

Misfire New Member

I use the Federal "Target Grade" ammo exclusively these days. It's also labelled "Auto Match". According to Federal, the ammo is specifically designed to work in automatics. They will work in many guns that are typically very picky. I've found they work in guns that will usually only work reliably with CCI mini mags. And at $14 for a box of 325 rds, they are a heck of a lot cheaper.

4. ZombieBrawler

ZombieBrawler New Member

I use the federal 30.06, $15 for 20 rounds cheapest there is and they shoot just fine with a big ol bang

5. BillM

BillM Active Member Supporter

+1! The Federal "Auto Match" is good stuff. I shoot steel challenge with
    a tricked out 10-22 and a 22-45 MkIII. Shooting against the clock--a
    misfire pretty much blows the string time. Had ONE failure to fire in over
    2000 rounds.

6. Gonzilla

Gonzilla New Member