Eye glasses, safety glasses. and hearing protection

Discussion in 'Training & Safety' started by twitcheyfinger, May 23, 2009.

1. twitcheyfinger

twitcheyfinger New Member

I am new at FireArms Talk, and this is my first post. I am new to guns. I wear eye glasses and am looking for eye and hearing protection while firing a pistol. Should I be using wrap around safety glasses, or would eye glasses be enough protection? If more protection is needed, are wrap around safety glasses available that fit over eye glasses? And would I better off with ear plugs since the frames might break the ear muff seal? I admit my ignorance and that I've asked a lot of questions. But I want to be sure that I do things right. Thanks.

Last edited: May 23, 2009
  2. matt g

matt g New Member Supporter

You should be looking for something with an ANSI rating of Z87.1 for the glasses. Your prescription lenses or sunglasses should be sufficient as long as they carry that "safety" rating.

As far as ears go, I've always preferred muffs, as they're quick and easy to get on and off. All muffs, even the cheapest, will conform to the proper ANSI rating.

If you prefer plugs, look at the "NRR" rating on the container and buy the highest that you can find. They're cheap, so buy a few different kinds and see what fits you best and feels most comfortable.

Many will tell you that they run double protection, but generally for shooting, it's overkill. I double up at work, but only because I work on a large hammer drill that produces sustained noise in excess of 150 dBc. You'd be hard pressed to find a gun that put out that much noise.

When I shoot, I usually wear my Smith Optics sunglasses and a pair of muffs that I paid $3ish for.

Welcome to the site. Let us know if you need anything.

Last edited: May 23, 2009

3. kcolg

kcolg New Member