Eotech on a Rock River LAR15

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by augimatic, Aug 26, 2012.

1. augimatic

augimatic New Member

Hey all I'm relatively new to the AR platform and I just got my first AR a Rock River LAR15 Tactical Operator model with the standard RRA rear iron sight

I also got a eotech sight for it, I'm just wondering if I mount the sight do I need to remove the rear iron sight?

Because I can't view the eotech with the rear sight on I have to look through it to use the sight.

Thoughts?

2. Jstrong

Jstrong New Member

Learn to co-witness (look through both irons and optic when sighting) all the time if your irons aren't to in the way,or pick you up a set of flip-up irons.

3. Nch22000

Nch22000 New Member

4. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

Augi,

A picture of your rifle would be good! We are not sure if you are speaking about the traditional A-2 Removable Sight, A stand alone or flip up!
    And as NCH mentioned they have the Dominator 2 which was specifically designed for use with the EOTech units. If you plan on using the Standard A-2 Removable Sight you will need a Cantilever Mount to tactically mount the EOTech on one of those! Sounds like a great rifle and I am sure you will enjoy it!

5. augimatic

augimatic New Member

image-641363424.jpg

Excuse the toes ha ha this is the rifle without the eotech

6. Nch22000

Nch22000 New Member

That's a regular removable sight. If I were you I'd put the dominator2 sight on it. I have one on my RRA AR-15 but I don't have an EOTech to put on it.

7. augimatic

augimatic New Member

thanks for all your help an input, I called Rock River to see about the Dominator 2 and it turns out I got the Operator 2 LAR15 and it already has the Dominator 2 on there, duh...

so I'm going to fit my EOTECH and try to learn how to use it with the rear sight, I have the zero out the EOTECH now

8. Nch22000

Nch22000 New Member