EMP or Aegis?

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by Mr. Bluesky, Oct 26, 2010.

1. Mr. Bluesky

Mr. Bluesky New Member

Between the Springfield Armory EMP 9mm and the Kimber Aegis II 9mm, which do you folks prefer and why? The price and features are pretty much the same (The Springfield carries 1 more round and has an ambi safety, neither of which is strictly necessary for me), and both are, as far as I can tell, 1911's designed around the 9mm rather than adapted.

And yes, I'm very sorry about the round, but learning to shoot .45 would cost me the amount of the gun all over again, and I'm a starving college student. My first Christmas bonus when I get a job is going straight into a real 1911, I promise. =P

2. michigan0626

michigan0626 New Member

Para Ordinance Warthog
    Para Ordnance Warthog Pistol 45 ACP

Kimber Aegis II Ultra $1100 8+1 9mm
    Springfield EMP $1200 9+1 9mm

Para Ordinance Warthog $800 10+1 45acp

cheaper, more rounds, and its a 45

Attached Files:

3. Gojubrian

Gojubrian New Member

I'd probably pick the springfield over the two. I just like the emp's better. :)

4. jca1

jca1 New Member

Springfield

5. Texgunner

Texgunner Member

I'd go for the EMP.

6. CA357

CA357 New Member Supporter

I've never had any Kimbers, but I had two Springers, a Mil Spec and a 9mm EMP. I liked the EMP a bunch and it was a handsome pistol as well.

The only thing I didn't care for was having to use the clippy thing on the recoil spring to field strip the pistol.

7. JJAMISON

JJAMISON New Member

for a starving college student that is a lot of dough to drop for a kimber or springfield. get the Para! I have owned a Para 14-45 for over 8 years and absolutely love the thing. they shoot like a dream!

8. DrumJunkie

DrumJunkie New Member

In my opinion the Springfield is the better built weapon between the twp thew OP listed. Though the Para is a very nice weapon as well I'm not sure it's better than the Springer. But it is a a 45.