"dumb" question from First Timer

Discussion in 'General Rifle Discussion' started by horsefeathers, May 5, 2011.

1. horsefeathers

horsefeathers New Member

Hi - I'm new to FTF just got aboard a couple of days ago. I bought a Remington 700 .270 WSM rifle. I'm a newbie and never fired a rifle before. Need some advice. I bought a pack of 5 dummy cartridges from Borownells because I wanted to practice chambering a round in the bolt action. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!!!!! Thanks!!!!! - Kevin

Attached Files:

2. deathkricket

deathkricket New Member

Keep a light coat of oil on it, other then that enjoy your new rifle, its a nice one.

3. canebrake

canebrake New Member

1. Buy ammo (real ammo)
    2. Find a safe range
    3. Shoot the snot out of 'er!

4. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member

Are you near Ft. Drum? A good guy I know is Army retired, but still works there as an armorer. He can help you. He has a thing for mid sized calibers. I think the water up there has him concerned right now.

5. jpattersonnh

jpattersonnh Active Member

Nice PM. Thanks! I hope I helped. Trigger time!!!!!

6. paulo57509

paulo57509 New Member

Are the dummy rounds you bought "snap-caps" or action proving dummies? If they're action proving dummies which don't have a spring loaded primer "cushion", don't pull the trigger on them.

7. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

Very nice rifle. Since you said you have never fired a rifle before, will mention a few things- do not mean to seem like I'm lecturing-

First, get some good hearing protection- muffs or foam plugs- learn how to use them, or be like us old farts, going around saying "Huh?" a lot. Get some shooting glasses. Use the eyes and ears when you shoot.

Next, READ the instructions that came with your rifle. If for whatever reason you do not HAVE instructions, go to the maker's website- you can probably download them.