Dueling Pistol??

Discussion in 'Blackpowder & Musket' started by Trez, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Trez

Trez Well-Known Member

This is my first time in this section!.. :p I know next to nothing about black powder stuff, and was wondering what this pistol is..
    It was my dads and supposedly is a old dueling pistol, but people have told me everything from its just a well made kit, a replica, or that it could be a real dueling pistol.. So I thought id ask the forum...

It uses a percussion cap and from what I understand, the percussion cap didnt come out until around the end of when dueling was no longer popular, so usually dueling pistols were flintlocks. Most cap pistols of this style are target pistols, but those have rifled barrels and mines smoothbore. In fact, this pistol does adhere to all the rules for dueling...

The gun is marked "2" on the barrel and "action" (I dont know what you guys call that part of the gun...) but both dueling and target pistols usually came two to a set... Theres a "54" marked on the action, and proof marks on the barrel two "B<" and what looks like a backwards "feathery" cursive F.
    So do I have a "late" dueling pistol or a repro? Do you think its shootable, or should it be a wallhanger? What about finding out the caliber?
    How about cleaning it? Theres some surface rust in the bore that doesnt seem to bad, but how do I run a brush through the barrel when the back of the barrel is closed? Like I said im a noob on BP....:eek:

(You guys like pics, so theres gonna be a few....)

Attached Files:

2. Trez

Trez Well-Known Member

More pics....

Attached Files:

3. Hawg

Hawg New Member

It's a French dueling pistol from around the 1850's. It might be worth a little bit. If it had it's mate and the cased accessories it would be worth a good bit. I wouldn't do any heavy cleaning especially to the outside. Clean the bore but be careful not to get any solvents anywhere else. Percussion caps came about in the 1830's.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2012