Dry Firing

Discussion in '1911 Forum' started by RocketGuy, Dec 30, 2010.

1. RocketGuy

RocketGuy New Member

Is it best to rack the slide or just pull the hammer back to cock a gun when dry firing.
    Yes I am a newbie.

Thanks

2. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

Is the gun brand new, or has it been used/broken in and is new to you?

And there is nothing wrong with being a newbie. We were ALL newbies at one point or another. ;)

3. danf_fl

danf_fl Retired Supporter

When racking the slide, do not let it slam foward on its own on an empty chamber.

4. RocketGuy

RocketGuy New Member

Thanks for the replies.
    Gun is new, has not been fired. I cleaned and lubed it when I got it, just haven't made it to the range yet.

5. Dillinger

Dillinger New Member

In that case I would recommend racking the slide to cock the hammer, and as was indicated, do not let it drop on an empty cylinder, then dry fire.

The 1911 design was built with dry firing in mind ( the military only had SO much money for ammo, so dry firing was part of training back in the day ), so there is no need for snap caps or anything like that.

After you rack the slide and let it down gently a few hundred times for break in, then you can just pull the hammer back and dry fire that way in the future.

The slide racking is to just simulate action use and will help "loosen it up", though opinions on that sort of thing do vary from user to user. There is no harm as long as you don't lock it open and hit the slide release, letting it slam home on an empty chamber.

Happy practicing. :D

6. RocketGuy

RocketGuy New Member

Thank you Dillinger, very much !

7. HOSSFLY

HOSSFLY New Member

Sums it up :cool:

8. JonM

JonM Moderator

letting the slide slam home uncontrolled empty is bad mojo for any semi-auto rifle or pistol, not just 1911's

9. SecPro

SecPro New Member

Also I'd recommend snap caps or dummy rounds of some sort for dry firing.

10. jpg366

jpg366 New Member

Bad practice