Dpms?

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by PrimePorkchop, Sep 8, 2012.

1. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

Looking to get my wife her first Rifle...she's more for aesthetics...i'm trying to teach her the ways in function over form...but it's going to be a long battle.

So far, she hasn't seen a Colt she likes yet... *shaking my head*

She's come across a few she likes, and some of them are DPMS. I have no experience with that company...anyone have any feedback to offer?

They seem "Cheaper" than most...not necessarily a bad thing, just sets off my skepticism a bit.

2. JonM

JonM Moderator

Cheap is a good word for it.

I got a dpms for my wife to get her started. She picked it out because it looked fun... A basic panther m4. Not a great rifle or even a good one. Functional for range use is a good way to look at it. About 2 years later i got her a bcm midlength lightweight and she expressed a desire for a season pass at the range.

I dont know your money situation but any rifle she likes will get her shooting and you can use that as an excuse to get another one later.

3. PrimePorkchop

PrimePorkchop New Member

I'm trying to keep it $1,000 or less...

The thing is, she goes shooting all the time with me...but as she put it, while stomping her foot on the ground "This is MY RIFLE, there will be none like it and this will be MINE!!!"

She's all about how it looks and cares nothing for function...she keeps proclaiming she'll get it duracoated pink (I think i created a monster with her Christmas present Glock....sigh)

i'll check out the BCM ...

so far she's liking a stainless barrel...she's IN LOVE with this one specifically

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/...emi-Automatic+223+Remington5.56+NATO+30+1+Cap

Last edited: Sep 9, 2012
  4. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member