dpms upgrade question

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by kiabe1, Aug 17, 2013.

1. kiabe1

kiabe1 New Member

Im new to upgrading ARs and i have a dpms carbine that i was thinking of pulling out the internal parts and upgrading. Will that make it a better quality gun? Really what im asking is what will it do for me and are there brands you suggest i should look into

2. Axxe55

Axxe55 The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

this is strictly my opinion. unless it's broke, why mess with it. the only area i could see that would be of any benefits would be the trigger componensts if looking for a lighter trigger pull weight of smoother trigger pull or maybe going to a two stage trigger.

my Bushmaster has all the factory parts in the lower and until something breaks or wears out, i see no reason to change them.

this is just my opinion and others may have other suggestions.

3. Sniper03

Sniper03 Supporting Member Supporter

kiabe,

Is the rifle having any problems at the present time. The old saying if it aint broke don't fix it comes to mind!
    DPS is not known for being one of the highest quality rifles but on the other hand, if the rifle is functioning properly and reliably they is no need to change out parts due to the fact there would be no advantage or improvement. I always say no matter what the name is on the Receiver. If it is reliable and functional with no issues "It is a D---- good Black gun! Some of the parts come from the same place as some of the other manufacturers. Like the Bolt Carrier Group and other parts. A good 2 stage trigger or other trigger with KNS Anti-Rotating Trigger and Hammer Pins will even improve the best trigger!

4. kiabe1

kiabe1 New Member

The rifle works fine and if buying a new set wont do anything i'll hold off thx for saving me some money

5. JonM

JonM Moderator