DPMS sportical question..

Discussion in 'AR-15 Discussion' started by The_Mapex_Killer, Jun 8, 2012.

1. The_Mapex_Killer

The_Mapex_Killer New Member

Im new to the AR world but not new to rifles.. Mostly only shot AK,sks,mausers and handguns so need a little info...

Ok I found a new DPMS Sportical for $640+tax in a local shop and of course the Guy says yea its great and what have you(but I don't listen to sell people lol).. I want real people to tell me if this is a good starting AR.. keep in mind I don't want to spend the $800+ on one at the moment but in the future I would like to upgrade so brings me to another question: would I be able to swap the upper on this rifle with a better one in the future after I get a good idea of how the rifle performs?? I mainly want to know if you can swap parts like upper and lowers on these sportical rifles like most of the other AR 15 rifles out there.. Please help and thanks for your info.. Oh and if you own one of these please inform me on how they shoot and what upgrades are necessary..thanks..

2. Quentin

Quentin New Member

You should be able to swap uppers on that. But first look at the S&W Sport in that price range.

3. The_Mapex_Killer

The_Mapex_Killer New Member

Ok thanks for your input and the same gun shop where I found the dpms they had the s&w m&p I think is what its called and its about $80 more but the Guy did say that both of the guns internals are pretty much the same.. is that true??

4. Quentin

Quentin New Member

What did he mean by the same? They may be interchangeable but I'd expect better quality in the SW. Compare them and see for yourself. I am not a fan of the Sportical.

5. Tenderribbs

Tenderribbs New Member

I have both the S&W and the DPMS in those models. As far as dependability I Have no ftf or fte from either rifle honestly to me the DPMS feels better to me the balance of it is quite nice. You can't go wrong with either one as far as replacing uppers I can't sAy.

image-2794780973.jpg