Domestic Abuse

Discussion in 'The Club House' started by nate913, Jun 19, 2013.

1. nate913

nate913 New Member

I got into a debate with a friend after watching IraqVet on YouTube. Of someone has a domestic abuse on there record. Are they able to have handguns. From what I thought, if owned them before, you can get but can't buy for 5 years? IraqVet YouTube channel said that you can not

2. dango

dango Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

I,m no lawyer , but associate (Domestic Abuse) with a (Felony) ..!
    I would think , no guns..? :confused:

3. nate913

nate913 New Member

Domestic abuse is not a felony

4. DrumJunkie

DrumJunkie New Member

In my state (Ky) a domestic can get a permit holders permit pulled. But I don't think it will not allow them to purchase. But I have no real reference for that.

5. dango

What am I thinking..? (domestic violence)..? :confused:

6. c3shooter

c3shooter Administrator Staff Member

OK- from the start- I am not a lawyer. If you need legal advice, see a lawyer, not an internet forum- since NONE of us will be sitting in the cell beside you.

Having said that, as I understand the FEDERAL law on this- If you have been CONVICTED of a crime of Domestic Violence- misdemeanor or felony, it is illegal for you to possess a firearm.

Period.

No "for 5 years" or any such thing.

Period. No. uh-uh. Nope. Nyet. Nein. Not ever. Unless you get a pardon from the Governor or President.

Not a pistol, not a rifle, not a shotgun, not a round of ammo.

7. dango

8. nate913

nate913 New Member

This question was off the YouTube channel of IraqVet. I just heard them debate it and was wondering.

9. SSGN_Doc

SSGN_Doc Well-Known Member

It's serious enough that in the military, a member who has a domestic violence conviction, cannot stand armed watches. They can't qualify with firearms. Therefore retention in the military may be pretty short after a domestic violence conviction.

10. kryptar19

kryptar19 New Member